EU INSTITUTIONS

The European Commission https://european-union.europa.eu/institutions-law-budget/institutions- and-bodies/institutions-and-bodies-profiles/european-commission_en	The European Commission represents the common interests of the EU and is the EU's main executive body. It puts forward proposals for new laws, which are scrutinised and adopted by the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union. It also manages EU policies and the EU's budget and ensures that countries apply EU law correctly.
The European Parliament https://european-union.europa.eu/institutions-law-budget/institutions-and-bodies-profiles/european-parliament_en	The European Parliament represents the citizens of EU countries and is directly elected by them. It takes decisions on European laws jointly with the Council of the European Union. It also approves the EU budget.
The Council of the EU https://european-union.europa.eu/institutions-law-budget/institutions- and-bodies/institutions-and-bodies-profiles/council-european-union_en	Represents the governments of EU countries. The Council of the EU is where national ministers from each government meet to adopt laws and coordinate policies. Ministers meet in different configurations depending on the topic to be discussed. The Council of the EU takes decisions on European laws jointly with the European Parliament.
The European Council https://european-union.europa.eu/institutions-law-budget/institutions- and-bodies/institutions-and-bodies-profiles/european-council_en	The heads of state or government of the EU countries meet, as the European Council, to define the general political direction and priorities of the European Union. The European Council is chaired by a president who is elected for a 2.5-year term, renewable once. It does not adopt laws except for possible EU Treaty amendments.

The work of these 4 main EU institutions, which covers the legislative and executive tasks of the EU, is complemented by the work of another 3 EU institutions: the Court of Justice of the European Union, the European Central Bank and the European Court of Auditors. These 3 institutions are responsible for managing the judicial, financial and external audit aspects of the European Union.